Log in
Log in


The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is granted by the local council's NOESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Unlike the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is a national award, the NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have been made closer to home. The NOESA was created in 2010 in conjunction with the 100th anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America. Less than 3000 NOESAs have been awarded.

Who Can Receive This Award? The NOESA may not be sought by an Eagle Scout. The award is similar to a Silver Beaver in that it “finds” the recipient. All NOESA recipients must be Eagle Scouts in good standing with the Boy Scouts of America and must either be registered with or have their primary residence within the boundaries of the nominating council. No length of time is required to have passed since earning the rank. Examples of possible recipients include:

  • Local heroes and celebrities at the peak of their notoriety whose achievements outside of Scouting have touched and inspired others;
  • Philanthropists, public servants, educators, or business owners who have made a positive, long-term impact as cornerstones of the community;
  • Individuals who have attained prominence at the state or regional level in their profession or avocation—an avocation being any activity including, but not limited to, athletics, hobbies, collecting, outdoor adventure, and record-setting activities.

Each recipient’s actions and accomplishments should elevate the stature of Eagle Scouts in the public eye, and each recipient shall be held to the standards set forth in the Scout Oath, Scout Law. The NOESA is not awarded for service to Scouting – rather it is recognition of what the Eagle Scout has accomplished in their professional life or in their community, namely what the Eagle Scout has done to better their self in their career or avocation, and most importantly, for service to others. 

How many NOESA Honors can the Laurel Highlands Council present? A BSA Council that has one to 100 Eagle Scouts in one calendar year may present two NOESA honors in the following calendar year. A council with 101 to 200 Eagle Scouts in a year may present three NOESAs in the following year, and continue to grant an additional NOESA for every 100 Eagle Scouts or fraction thereof awarded beyond that amount. For example, a council with 201 Eagle Scouts would be able to award four NOESA honors.

When should I submit a nomination? You may submit an application for a NOESA anytime between Jan 1st and August 31st. The NESA Awards Committee makes its selections in late September for presentation at the NESA Meeting directly prior to the Eagle Scout Recognition Dinner in November.

Here is a list of the Eagle Scouts in the Laurel Highlands Council who have been recipients of the NOESA Award:

  • Chris Hoke – Retired Pittsburgh Steeler Team Member, Community Leader
  • CW Kreimer – Retired CEO, CommerSel, Inc.
  • Joseph Salvucci – President/CEO, Peak Technical Staffing USA
  • Howard A. Schillinger – President, Cold Stream Logistics
  • *George F. Cahill – Scout Executive, Allegheny Trails Council BSA
  • R. Michael Daniel, Esq. – Director, Estates and Trusts, Cohen & Grigsby, PC
  • Richard L. Ray, MD – Orthopedic Surgeon, Allegheny General Hospital
  • Steve Dewick – Docket Control Coordinator, Buchanan, Ingersoll and Rooney, PC
  • Joseph O. Elwell, Jr. – Chief of Construction, US Army Corps of Engineers – Pittsburgh Division
  • Honorable Norman A. Krumenacker, III – Judge, Cambria County Court of Common Pleas
  • *James B. Richard – Principle, James B. Richard Services, Community Leader
  • Charles R. Schrankel – CEO, Gardwell Products Manufacturing Co.
  • Paul Wain – Assistant Youth Director, Memorial Park Church, Community Leader
  • G. Reynolds “Renny” Clark – Vice Chancellor for Community Initiatives, University of Pittsburgh
  • Evan Erickson – Program Manager for the Fixed Gas and Flame Detection Group, Mine Safety Appliances
  • Bernard W. Lockard Jr. – President, Lockard Oil Company
  • Melvin Pirchesky – President, Pittsburgh-based Eagle Ventures
  • James Grote Uber – Patent Attorney & Associate General Counsel, Mine Safety Appliances
  • Mark H. Breedlove – President and CEO, Keystone Profiles, Ltd
  • Dr. Scott Paul Carnivale – Senior Member, Brentwood Medical Group
  • Byron K. Custer III – Managing Director – Johnstown office Wells Fargo Advisors
  • John L. Erskine, President – Erskine Sanker Financial Group
  • Scott Scariot – President, Three Rivers/Pittsburgh International Plastic Model Society Chapter**
  • Clarence J. Baldwin – Division Manager, Advanced Systems Technology, Westinghouse
  • Dr. James S. Balent, DMD – President of the Washington/Greene Dental Association, President Washington Lions Club, Washington School District Board Member
  • Robert C. Barker, P.E. – Lead Civil Engineer at the Shell Pennsylvania Chemical (Franklin Ethane Cracker
    project) site Monaca, PA.
  • Ronald N. Herring – President - International Division of Mine Safety Appliances (NYSE: MSA)
  • Dr. Richard A. Lechliter, DVM – County Commissioner/Mineral County, WV
  • Honorable Michael H. Wojcik – Judge, Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court
  • Jonathan H. Burnett, Jr. – Lifetime career in television broadcasting
  • Daniel D. Crawford – Senior Vice President and financial advisor with Morgan Stanley, Philanthropist
  • Col. Jerry L Kintigh – US Airforce (ret.)
  • Timothy J. Kronenwetter - President and CEO of InFirst Bank, Indiana, Pennsylvania
  • Jonathan E. Schadt – Owner, Schadt Plumbing and Heating, Community leader, Scoutmaster, Special Olympics Supporter
  • Jay R. Zimmerman – CPA, CFO of Small Tube Products, Inc.
  • Carlos Carmona
  • Bud Smith
  • Ned Uber
  • Sylvester Beozzo

  • Tim Hindes

  • Rory Cooper

* Gone Home

** In addition to Scott Scariot ‘s Scouting and Community Leadership, Scott was recognized as the first Eagle Scout in the Laurel Highlands Council to be awarded the NOESA for his leadership in an avocation as opposed to vocation -- Model Building.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software